Filmmaking and Your Favourite Movie!

So tomorrow I have a midterm exam for my Film 100 class and have been studying all day, looking at lighting, design, cameras, and all other aspects of filmmaking that go into creating a feature-film.  I’d have to say one of my favourite scene’s in a movie is in Saving Private Ryan (1998) when the character of George C. Marshall reads Abraham Lincoln’s letter addressed to one Mrs. Bixby to some of his staff. The letter, which had been sent to Mrs. Bixby many years previously, was telling her that all five of her sons were killed on the field of battle in the war.  Halfway through reading the letter, he places the letter on his desk and looks directly at his staff, continuing to read the letter and proving its importance to him and their situation.Just for fun, I want to know what your favourite film is and why?  Do you love it for it’s story, its cinematography and how the film looks on screen, its special effects, or its emotional value?  Maybe there is a specific scene that you just appreciate.  It does not matter. GO!

5 responses to “Filmmaking and Your Favourite Movie!

  1. Oh..there are sooooo many great films out there…One of my favourite older movies is “Mississippi Burning” with Gene Hackman and William Dafoe. The story of a racist southern community and a corrupt local Sherrif was well depicted and powerful. I think the characterizations were what I enjoyed most. The imagery of a burning cross reflecting in the glasses of Dafoe was a great piece, as well as the scene where Hackman is using a straight razor to interrogate/shave the deputy.

    Good luck on your midterm Ben 🙂

  2. Thanks!

    Also, I have got to say, Kill Bill Vol. 1 and 2 are probably two of my favourite films simply for their incredible use of almost every film technique from use of black and white sequences in between coloured scenes to the scenes entirely made up of animation. They are spectacular films. Team Tarantino!

  3. I love the “Expectation vs. Reality” sequence in (500) Days of Summer. I don’t think any other scene has rang so true for me, and the use of splitscreen with the slightly staggered timing between the two sides is really effective in showing how disappointing reality can be in comparison to our idealized expectations.

  4. Ummm.. Could you rephrase the question and give me some categories? Like silent movie, art movie (preferably with different year span, like 1960s-1970s, etc)…

    🙂

    One of my favourites that made an impact on my life would be Himmel Uber Berlin aka Wings of Desire. For everything. For the sequences of listening to people’s thoughts. For music. For Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds appearing in a hilarious comment and a song. For the poetry in image. For the idea. For the storyline. For lighting. For Berlin. For fragility. For library scene. Did I miss anything?
    Oh yeah.. well, maybe for Otto Sander. 😛

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093191/

    Please don’t even try to mention the pathetic American remake…

Leave a Reply...and you win!